The Hatfield House Reviews

 

Fine, Creative and Real

Friends and family took me to the Hatfield for my sixtieth birthday. We had the restaurant to ourselves, it would have been closed that night, but they offered to accommodate us so graciously. We arrived to the most wonderful sunset view over the Tusket river. Breathtaking site while sipping on champagne. The environment was fine but casual and Laura is a capable and a well experienced hostess who knows how to set the tone. There was quality in everything around us yet very relaxed and laid back which is what I like. One would feel comfortable by being casual or formal at the Hatfield. The chef Michael, was professional and informative and took the time to explain each course at the table. His food was as fine as any other high quality restaurant that I had frequented and enjoyed immensely. Many of our guests that evening have had the fortune of dining at many fine restaurants around the world and they all were enjoying the quality of the food and the service and the simplicity it was all presented. Over the last several years I have sent the Hatfield many of my guests and they all came back with great reviews. Sometimes it is not just the food or the service or the surroundings only. quality the.....It is really about the whole feel. They know how to make you feel great with their refined style. Congratulation to the Hatfield family for creating memorable memories and experiences to patrons from all over. We do wish you continuous success and keep it sincere and fine without pretension and you will always continue being on top. Thanks for the memories...Mathew and family November 2016

This restaurant is AMAZING. I travel a lot and was so surprised at the quality and presentation of everything we had. The owner opened the restaurant on a day they are usually closed for our special celebration. She was so informative and went out of her way to make sure everything about our dinner was above and beyond our expectations. Lynne S, November 2016

We were travelling through the area so we planned ahead and made reservations at this highly rated restaurant and it did not disappoint. My husband did the thanksgiving offering...and ate every bite, while my daughter chose the Moroccan Chicken dish without chicken and I enjoyed the seafood dish. Everything was done well and well portioned. The cocktails were very well done. Thank you Laura and team. Trish C, October 2016

We were fortunate to participate in the Culinary Experience, and I would highly recommend this if you can get in. Laura is enchanting, full off personality and really made the evening a memorable one for sure. We had quahogs, scallops and the specialty hot lobster. All of them were amazing, and it was a real treat to be able to participate in the actual cooking of the entire meal.

Lily , September 2016

We had the pleasure of dining at Hatfield House in Tusket last weekend. It's a charming New England home with a deep history. Upon entering through the rear screened in porch, our party of four were greeted by the friendly staff and seated outside to enjoy the pretty country garden and watch the beautiful day turn to dusk. The menu is well balanced with locally sourced items, many of which come from the Hatfield House garden. We were well looked after by the knowledgeable staff who saw to our every need without being intrusive. The bread which is made in house was delicate and moist and a great start to our dinner. The flash fried calamari was done to perfection. Two of us ordered the ribs which are smoked in house were tender, meaty and spiced just right. We also had seafood plates of shrimp, scallops and panko crusted haddock. The portions were generous and accompanied by double baked potatoes....delicious!!! For dessert, bread pudding...amazing!! and blueberry panna cotta...silky goodness. The menu also offers creative salads, tasty cocktails and a great wine selection. We will definitely return, perhaps in the cooler months to enjoy one of the cozy dining rooms. To be in this part of the province and not visit Hatfield House would truly be a shame....Brenda M August 2016

We went to the Hatfield House for a birthday celebration. It was the best choice we could have made. The food was scrumptious! The atmosphere was really nice in this carefully restored old home with beautiful decor and nice soft music. The guys opted for cocktails which were interesting. Appetizers of deep fried calamari and smoked salmon latkes were shared. The calamari was tender and delicious! Our meals were all different, from lobster pasta, seafood plate, steak and seared tuna. All were cooked to perfection and not a scrap was on the plates. The desserts! Oh my! The bread pudding was a big hit as was the cream cheese coffee cake. The caramel sauce was home made and not thick and sticky like you bet other place. Prices were very reasonable for the quality of the food and the finer dining experience. Service as also great with all servers being helpful whether it was their table or not. The Hatfield House is less than an hour away for us so this is our new favorite place. Both couples agreed. Hoping to get reservations for New Years and (hint hint) Valentines Day! Symonds, August 2016

We were blown away by the food here. I had the filet mignon, which was done just right (medium rare), and the fries were out of this world. I've never been this blown away by French fries! Laura told us that they cut the potatoes fresh and fry them there. Oh, and the scallops for the appetizer were done just right. The setting was perfect - an old, New England planter-style house overlooking a river. Peaceful and beautiful. One of the best restaurants I've ever eaten at. Brent, July 2016

We just had our wedding reception at The Hatfield House! Our expereince was so amazing I just wanted to share. I was so pleased with the table settings it looked right out of a magazine (my dream). The tables were so perfectly set up with flowers and they used their beautiful vintage candle holders. The atmosphere was so elegant and the gals were so friendly and helpful with anything we needed. The food was rave worthy!!! We had a ham, cheesy scollap potatoes & carrots. Our guests gave us rave reviews how delicious it was, us included cleaned our plates!
Thank you to The Hatfield House for making our dream wedding into a dream come true!❤

May, 2016 ·

What a fabulous evening. Thank you so much for an unforgettable demonstration of home-town goodness...thank you Laura! Thank you Tony and thank you girlfriends! So awesome! Is there really any where else we could have had this experience?

Cheers to all!! Kim Anderson December 2015

 

I went to my first culinary experience at the Hatfield House a couple of weeks ago with my cousin. We were greeted at the door by the friendliest staff and were given a complimentary glass of wine. The Hatfield house is beautiful and I especially loved the outside area where we dined. It was great to learn how to make an amazing dish and it was awesome to get to partake in the making of the dish! I had an amazing time and I will definitely come back the next time I visit! I would recommend this experience to anyone who likes to have a great time while learning how to make great food. - Morgan Ettinger July 2015

 

Service was excellent and food was exquisite!! The atmosphere was cozy and welcoming. We will definitely be returning! Just when I thought there was no hope for today's customer service, we discovered this hidden treasure!! - Salina -Luv Langford Penney February 15th, 2015

 

Laura - Sorry I didn't get a chance to say bye last night, but you were very busy and was at a table when we were heading out. In case we do not get a chance to stop back before you close, I just wanted to say how much we LOVED our meal last night. Steve is pretty fussy and he loved the Pork Tenderloin and the clams were out of this world so good! Keep up the great work and in case I don't see you next week, enjoy your much deserved and well-earned break! smile emoticonAll the best, Shelley. January 2015

 

Hi Laura, First and foremost, Gordon and I are totally impressed with The Hatfield House!! The experience last night was absolutely amazing, the 5 course meal and wine were definitely at the top of the scale and one of the best meals we have ever had!!! Having Pete Luckett added to the experience, his personality, with and humour were enjoyable as was the wine!! If you decide to have him again in the future we would definitely attend!! Once again, the food, the chef, the staff, the ambience, you....BRILLIANT!!! See you soon November 2015

 

Me and my husband had the opportunityy to go to The Hatfield House Friday evening for dinner. It was absolutely perfect. ...The staff goes above and beyond for their guests, the food was fantastic, the view is beautiful and the dining experience was 5 star! It is not a fast pace, loud dining experience. It is a quiet, relax and converse with great company dining experience. We will definitely be returning! Thank you to Laura and your amazing staff for providing a great night out for me and my husband :)  August 2014. Julie McCallion - 5 Star

 

Just finished my FIRST culinary experience and I'll definately be back in the future! I've been sharing all about it on all the social media, so I hope you get super busy! Great time and so unique! July 2014. Shana Andrew Newell - 5 Star 

 

 

We certainly enjoyed our anniversary supper here tonight! The decor, the staff, the drinks, appetizer, main course and desserts were more than we expected! Thank you Laura and staff! September 2014. Nancy Poole- Bishara - 5 Star

 

January 23, 2015 was my first time dining experience. I invited my cousin to join me. The creamed lobster dinner with the homemade Hatfield House French fries was a perfect choice & cheese cake for desert. I'm impressed by the character & history of this old house. Was so cozy there near the fireplace on a cold winter night and staff were friendly and did not rush this dining experience. It's a fine place to dine in a comfortable atmosphere. Food is of excellent quality and so is the service. See you in the Spring :) thank you for the hospitality ! Molly Cunningham -  5 Star

 

Great brunch....lobster crepes...will order that again!!! January 2015. Rhonda Kelly-Cooke - 5 Star

 

It was great. The food was delicious! I highly recommend it for everybody! The service was perfect and very friendly people! January 2015. Nick Berry - 5 Star

 

On October 19th, we traveled from all over NS to Hatfield House to celebrate my grandparents 68th wedding anniversary. Thank you very much Laura, and to the kind ladies who served us, also big thanks to Mike and the kitchen staff. Our meal was most pleasant in the private room, a great setting for our large group. We will be back! December 2014. Suzanne Nicole - 5 Star

 

A friend of ours was home for the first time in 2 years and we spend a fantastic evening at the Hatfield House. The food was great, the wine super tasty, the atmosphere relaxing and the staff great. We were there until the staff was cleaning up to leave and never felt rushed to get out. We were able to enjoy each others company to the fullest. It was a great dining experience and will be there again shortly ( tomorrow actually :) ) October 2014. Terrilee O'Connell - 5 Star

 

First time visit to the Hatfield House and it was great. We will be back many more times for sure. Beautiful place, great staff and awesome food. Great view too!! January 2015. Michael D Steward - 5 star

 

Unique dining experience!! Excellent food, great staff and beautiful house!! December 2014. Doris Keglovits - 5 star

 

Had a wonderful lunch there today! The decor and atmosphere is warm, inviting, cozy and welcoming. The service was spot on, the waitress was very friendly, knowledgeable, what she couldn't answer, was very eager to find us the answer to our questions. And the meal was delicious, from the tasty appetizer right to the dessert. Cannot wait to go back again! September 2014. Great job! Shelley Leblanc - 5 Star

 

Loved it! Will definitely be going again.... Soon!! October 2014. Ashley Dawn Foster - 5 Star

 

My husband and I were here over thanksgiving weekend and loved every bite! Beautiful scenery, great atmosphere, and great customer service as well. :) October 2014. Lisa Spinney - 5 Star

 

 

 

 

Home

 

© 2018 by The Hatfield House  ~  8132, Hwy 3, Tusket, NS, B0W 3M0   ~   email: thehatfieldhousetusket@gmail.com  
Phone: 902 648 1888